millarworld.tv Comics Creators

Who and Where is your Local comic shop?!

Ok, so here is the thing…
Some of you know me, my name is Matt Garvey and I am a small press comic writer from out in Essex for all my sins…

A buddy of mine is doing an article about Free comic book day and he wanted my “advice” i’d give to people who have never been into a comic shop before and are thinking about going this weekend…
And my advice was simply this:

“By all means go in and take free comics, that’s what they are there for…but while you are in there, talk to the staff (they are friendly), ask for another comic recommendation, take a chance on something you will have to pay for and I guarantee you’ll be pleasantly surprised…local comic shops are the life blood of the industry…if we don’t support them, there will be no more “free comic book day” and it will end up being a “no comic book day” when they have to close their doors!”

I genuinely believe that comic shops ARE the life blood of the industry and for the last year, they have been incredibly supportive of me with my small press comics…which I am ever so grateful for!

My new comic The Ether #1 is currently at the printers and so far via my website I have pre-sold over 40% of my initial print order…which is great and I am over the moon with that.
Also, several of the LCS that stock my comics have placed their orders too, which again is AMAZING!
THANK YOU!
But, I had a revelation today…
Me selling my comics via my website is great…for me…but doesn’t really help Local comic shops, when people can get them from my website at the same price…so I wanted to do something just for them…
I have just spoken to @Dizevez and Diz has kindly agreed to do a COMIC SHOP ONLY variant…that you will only be able to get by walking into a physical bricks and mortar store (that stocks our comic)… I will not be selling these variants online… or anything
(I may give a few away as prizes at cons or on twitter/here at some point, but that’s it)