millarworld.tv Comics Creators

So, uh, hey, I'm getting published by Image Comics

I was chatting about this in another thread, but since I’m going slightly off subject, I thought I’d create a separate thread here.

So, yeah, on December 28th, I’m going to be published by Image Comics.

I’m sure as all you guys know, every year Top Cow Productions runs the Top Cow Talent Hunt.

I entered for three years and I was a Writing Runner-Up in the Top Cow Talent Hunt 2014 - 2015.

The Winners got to do a complete one shot, while the Runners-Up got to write a six to eight page story.

Well, in under a month, the strip I wrote is going to appear in the CyberForce: Artifacts #0 one shot.

I’ve been on the Millarworld board for a long time and I’ve even met up with a few folk off here in person.

I’ve been an aspiring writer for many years and I’ve always loved comics. I studied Screenwriting as an undergraduate and a postgraduate. However, by the time I was studying my Masters Degree at Screen Academy Scotland in Edinburgh I’d kinda lost my way. I thought I might try writing for television or film, I just didn’t know.

But Mark Millar came in as a guest speaker and it reminded me that comic books are something I truly do love and that’s where I should focus my energies.

He mentioned a project he couldn’t talk about, which turned out to be CLiNT and suggested people join the Millarworld board. And I did. I’ve been on here ever since.

I tried submitting for Space Oddities, and while none of my strips made it in, it gave me the chance to work with artists and the experience led me to pursue writing in the indie and small press, where I have been published.

And I’ve also tried to enter every talent hunt I’ve come across.

So, I guess that’s why I’m sharing this here, because being on Millarworld has been an important part of my journey.

Oh, and because I wanted to share that Matt Hawkins has revealed on his Twitter that there is going to be a Top Cow Talent Hunt 2017.