millarworld.tv Comics Creators

So I introduced 36 teenagers to comics . . . An Experiment

Hello all, it’s been a while since I’ve posted but I’ve been lurking forever. However, a conversation with Jim O’Hara (great to see you again, Jim!) this evening inspired me to get more involved in the boards again.

So anyway, something that’s been on my mind as I approach the big 4-0 is wondering how people get into the comic reading habit today. This is especially relevant to me since I am a high school English teacher. I recently did a graphic novel unit in my honors Freshmen class and really enjoyed watching and reading their reactions. Only half the class had ever read a graphic novel before, and only 3 of them identified themselves as regular comic readers. It was very interesting, partly because of the limitations I had: 1. All books had to be school-age appropriate, meaning “PG-13” at worst. I’m sure many teenagers would enjoy reading Preacher, but I wasn’t going to deal with angry parents! 2. All the graphic novels had to come from my own collection, since school-funding is a joke, and 3. I wanted ones that could be understood on their own and could be compared to other classic epics like the Odyssey, since we have been studying “The Hero’s Journey”, etc. all semester.

Here’s some of my choices: 2 Ultimate Spider-Man vol. 1s (The Peter version and the Miles version); Millar’s Ultimate X-men vol. 1, Starlight, and Red Son; Claremont/Miller’s Wolverine; Batman Year One, Batman Earth One vol. 1; Takio, Locke & Key vol. 1; Johns’ Justice League vol. 1, Morrison’s JLA vol. 1; New Frontier, 1602, The Marvels Project; Superman for All Seasons, Superman: Secret Origin; Green Arrow: The Archer’s Quest; Green Lantern: Secret Origin; I Kill Giants, and a bunch more. I really went for diversity but it was super-hero heavy because that stuff is is general a lot more tame than non-super-hero comics.