millarworld.tv Comics Creators

Question for Writers

How do you guys go about developing ideas/writing for short, five page stories? I’m trying to really get into them and seem to have an issue having ideas that are that short.

I’m not an expert on these things, but usually for a short story I have to be economical about what I’m writing. I try to think about what story I am trying to tell and how much plot, action, character etc I can afford.

For me a short story is largely driven by progressing the idea to it’s natural conclusion, so I try to find ways to jettison stuff that the story doesn’t need (even if I like writing vast tracts of dialogue or would love a cool splash page). Mostly I tend to find myself looking over Comics and Sequential Art and trying to figure out how Will Eisner did stuff like that (with admittedly a couple of extra pages) in The Spirit.

Hi Jared. A good way to become adept at five page stories is to convert a long story to five pages. Take a movie like Star Wars: A New Hope. Work out how to adapt that story coherently in five comic book pages by pairing off more and more of what you don’t actually need to show in panels (like a storyboard). This will teach you how to be economical but still tell a story effectively. Then use that new skill to tell any story you want in 5 pages. You can improve even more by seeing if you can tell that story with even less panels/pages. It’s a good method of practice in telling stories in general, too.

That’s good advice.

For example, Grant Morrison retold the origin of Superman in two pages

https://i1.wp.com/www.schizopolitan.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/all-star_superman_origin.jpg

Exactly the type of thing I was thinking but couldn’t think of examples off-hand, thank you Simon.

Thank you for the advice. I really appreciate it!

I will definitely give that a shot. Appreciate the advice!

I’m happy to help.