millarworld.tv Comics Creators

Please help me improve my line art! (Modern age comics style)

Hey guys, I’m new here. Call me Jay.
I’ve just recently got my first comic off the ground, and you can read it here:

A huge problem I’m having with the line art is that it looks way too cartoony, even though I add plenty of hatching and such.
My aim is to be as much like the modern Marvel Comics style as possible. The best examples of this that I can find are below:

Can anyone help me? Someone who does this sort of comic art would be really useful.

2 Likes

could you share some of your art? :slight_smile:

It’s in the link https://tapastic.com/series/Hall-of-Heroes-Volume-1

i’m not a professional but i think you can work on your figure drawing and your panel layouts. you don’t have to add a lot of hatches if you are coloring your comics. :slight_smile:

harvey tolibao would say in panels that you should try to imitate the art style that you want to make, hone it so much that it would become natural to you on drawing with that style. same thing with paneling.

looking at your comic, maybe you should try to add more square panels. :slight_smile:

again, i’m not a professional. but that’s my advice. :slight_smile:

1 Like

You have an interesting art style.

Personally, I think it would take a lot of work to move from that into the more traditional comics art. Or, more to the point, it takes a lot of practice.

Not necessarily advice, but options here. Take a look at Andrew Loomis: http://www.alexhays.com/loomis/

These texts have an amazing amount of instruction and exercises to develop a traditional, representational illustrative style from figure drawing to composition.

2 Likes

awesome books you gave him everything he needs :smiley:

2 Likes

Hello Jay, I can’t really offer any advice, but just wanted to say hi. Welcome to Millarworld.

1 Like

Hello there!

2 Likes

What comics do you read? Do you make any?