millarworld.tv Comics Creators

Makin' Models! The Super Model Thread!

Howdy! This here is the place to talk about making models, miniatures, robots, trains, boats, aircraft, spacecraft, wee little metal men with perfectly painted pantaloons, little bitty tiny models and great big models used for movie sets like Minas Tirith!

I know you’re out there. I’ve seen your work!

Don’t know if I ever mentioned it, but Once Upon A Time even before I went to Cave College I was a near-professional model builder. Won awards and stuff for fine scale model railroading, and was expanding into other types of scale reality. Built a couple models used in movies (no, you never heard of the movies, they were either student films or never released) and a few sold. (So I was a “pro” then, technically.) Then came college, I got hooked, became a psych major and graduated. There came the problem. My mentor and master teacher wanted me to go to work in a psychiatric hospital to get lots of hands-on experience. Meanwhile, growing up in Hollywood, all my friends wanted me to get working somewhere in the movie industry and keep writing. (I did that too, with stellar success. Not.) With this I got an interview at a rather cruddy warehouse in Van Nuys with a guy named Tex. He offered me a paid job (barely) making models for this big science fiction movie they were making. I had to decide. A solid career, much room for advancement, in the field I had a degree and interest; or work 22-hour days for a pittance and no benefits building models. I rather grudgingly chose to work in the hospital. The warehouse in Van Nuys was Industrial Light & Magic and the film they were making was Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope. Imagine how many hairy nights at the hospital I wished I had chosen to build the Millennium Falcon!