millarworld.tv Comics Creators

How did you decide on your Millarworld Annual entry?

Hi All!

Looking at my own process for this, it made me curious: How did YOU select which title you were going to submit for?

To be honest, that for me, was one of the hardest parts of this contest – choosing the “right” one. It wasn’t a decision I could’ve made on my own so easily, so I asked my modest fan-base (I’ve been self-publishing for a few years now) which title they’d like to see me tackle. And the top picks were Hit-Girl, Chrononauts and Kingsman – but I recognized this for the HUGE opportunity it truly has been and didn’t want to go where I was expected to go. I wanted a challenge. So I chose, American Jesus – certainly a challenging book to write, depending on your own belief structure, but its also one of the most potent of titles in the bunch (as an as yet, unfinished trilogy) – to hang my hat.

To that effect, how did you choose yours:
a.) Personal favorite title/character?
b.) You wrote to your strengths as a writer?
c.) You wanted to step outside of your comfort zone?

Well. For me it wasn’t that hard. I had kingsman trade comic. So, it was accessible to me. And since this was my first time writing, I’m not sure of what my strengths as a writer are. Also, while I was writing it, I think I just saw spectre. So, I wanted to write a story in the spy genre which I thought would be fun. :smile:

Using your current mindset is a pretty good idea! Keep that in your rolodex as one of your strengths!

Thanks man. I wanted to keep it simple since overthinking things sometimes takes the fun out of doing it. :smile:

For me, I chose Chrononauts because it fit into the types of stories and genre that I’m most interested in writing long term, and I thought I could have the most fun with it. I also thought about Kingsman, but i’m not as familiar with that property.