millarworld.tv Comics Creators

Christmas Books

What books (excluding comics) are you reading, or looking forward to reading over the Christmas break? I’m an editor, so most of my reading is for work (including at holiday times) but I’m hoping to get to read some books for pleasure for a change. I have a few ready to go, including Chris Golden’s Dead Ringers and Stephen King’s The Bazaar of Bad Dreams. And non-fiction, Richard Ayode’s Ayode on Ayode.

Over the last couple of years I’ve generally gone with something light and/or undemanding to get me through the days spent with inlaws and family. I really enjoyed the Christopher Moore books The Stupidest Angel (which also has the virtue of being a Christmas book) and Lamb. I also read a Jack Reacher book, the name of which escapes me but which I read in a couple of hours and passed the day pleasantly enough.

I am on a bit of a space opera binge at the moment. I’m currently finishing up Ancillary Justice (highly recommended). I’m planning to give the Star Trek Destiny trilogy a shot over the holiday season and then read Ancillary Mercy when I’ve finished those.

Let me know if that’s any good. The blurb on the cover for it was really funny.

I will probably be doing a lot of re-reading.

I am currently re-reading David Mitchell’s books after getting Slade House for my birthday a few months ago. As such, I will probably read The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet again.

Assuming it ever gets cold, I’ll also re-read some Sherlock Holmes, which is just something I do every winter. Basically I just grab a collection and read whatever stories whose plots I can’t immediately remember because of the title. This gets easier the older I get.

I’ve been postponing reading Dickens’ BLEAK HOUSE for years now, mostly because it’s about 1,000 pages. Maybe I’ll make that my New Year’s resolution.

Wow. 1000 pages of Dickens with the word bleak in the title? That sounds pretty damned depressing. :wink: