millarworld.tv Comics Creators

Brand new to the forums and looking to be pointed in the right direction

Hi guys!
My name is Tallon, I’m 28 and love writing.
I’ve written for as long as I can remember.
I’ve had a few ideas for a while now that over the past few weeks I’ve been putting down onto paper.
I just wanted a little advice and a general nudge in the right direction for a relative newbie.
First, I want to get a little feedback on my ideas, but have no idea where I stand in regards to copyright etc. The last thing I want to do is pick up a comic in a years time and see my ideas in beautiful technicolour! How do I protect my ideas? And what is the best way to relay them (as I’m only a writer and feel that my stories would be best told in the comic book medium)?
Also, I’m a story guy; I can write until my eyes bleed but I’m no artist. I have the imagination to say exactly what I need and want in art, but lack the skill I’m afraid.
What would you all suggest I do?
I’m here following a question and answer session at Glasgow Comic Con today and having met Mark and having a wee chat. He suggested signing up to the forums to people who wanted in on the world of comics.
I hope to read some helpful advice!

Hi Tallon, welcome aboard.

In truth there isn’t much you can do to protect ideas, you just need to get them out there first. Unless someone has clearly copied from your script then there isn’t much legal redress. If, just for example, you have an idea for a robot cop buddy story you can’t reserve that concept.

On artists, get to know them in places like this or at cons and other places and build up a relationship where they want to collaborate. We often get writers come and go ‘searching for an artist, email me to draw my script’ and they go nowhere. If (going back to my fake idea) you see an artist who draws amazing robots, approach them with the sales pitch that you have a story they’d love to draw.

Welcome aboard, Tallon!