millarworld.tv Comics Creators

Art tips for using grids

Artists! Looking for some advice and tips. How do you create grids before starting on your pages? I’m a professional graphic designer by day, so for me my usual go-to is to create my grids digitally in my software of choice. For comics, I try to stay out of the computer as much as I can and create “analog” style with pencils and paper, so i’m not quite sure how to get that same level of precision. Do you just bust out the ol’ T-square and measure out a grid on your boards, or are there other tricks that are helpful? Thanks for the help.

Are you asking about perspective grids? Or panel layout?

As far as what I use for either I’m not much help. I use a ruler and a pencil for both and work on straight out of the pack strathmore bristol board. (I should quit being such a luddite… one day)

The only tip I really have beyond measure twice before inking straight lines, would be unless you want a fish eye appearance make sure your perspective grid is bigger than the panel you’re working in by a fair margin.

Also I find I’ve caused myself quite a lot less headaches since I started inking my borders BEFORE I start drawing.

My opinion is that there is no way to make a decent quality comic art alone in a monthly series. I work almost all digital and still I want 14-18 hours for a perfect ( for my artist level) page inked and full color and that is after I draw some pages of the << heroes >> and become more familiar with them.

Yeah I think i’m approaching it a bit more from a graphic design place than a lot of comic creators. Looking more at modular grids like in this link: thinking with type and grids

I guess I already answered my question with doing a carefully measured out blue line grid and go from there. That’s just a nightmare of measurements! haha I’m so stuck in my digital world, where i can create a grid in 30 seconds.

I know manga studio has built in perspective grids.