millarworld.tv Comics Creators

Are writing qualifications worth while?

Hi All,

I recently joined the forums as I am interested in writing for comics and screen.

My day job is managing a User Experience design consultancy based within a University. To reach my current position I’ve achieved two good degrees related to Multimedia and HCI.

I’d like to change the focus of my career to working as a writer / script reader / editor. Or initially a support role in publishing.

My question is, in order to enter the roles I mention above would I benefit from doing another degree related to writing or publishing? Or can I achieve this just through short courses and self publishing to build up a portfolio of work?

If qualifications would be beneficial then what sort of subjects?

Any opinions would be appreciated, especially from people who have ‘made it’.

Cheers,
Stuart

I failed GCSE English and I can’t spell…yet I write my own comics.
Qualifications are meaningless.
If you have passion and you put your mind to it, you can do anything.

Hi Matt,

Thanks for that. You are definitely a great example of why qualifications aren’t required to write, and write well!

I think the other part of my question is if I want to change my day job to be around publishing / editing would I need to retrain.

As I’d love to work in an editorial role at Titan or Egmont Publishing in London as well as writing.

Cheers,

Stuart

Do it for free.
Work with some indie creators to edit their books.
Then send it to publishers to show what you can do.
Exact same way a writer or artist would approach.

I have a Masters in Creative Writing and went on to teach the subject at university.

Short answer: No.

Less short answer. No, but you’ll learn a bit about the mechanics of writing which you might enjoy but ultimately won’t help you get published.